Going Old School

In the last 24 hours I’ve introduced my kids to the common multi-media technology of 20 years ago.  Although my kids have seen plenty of vinyl records (because I still have everyone I every bought in storage containers in the basement), they had never seen or heard one play in our house because my turn table broke a long time ago.  For Christmas this year they bought dear old dad a USB turntable.  I finally got around to firing it up and after some fiddling with the included software I finally was able to rip some vinyl.  My youngest was quite amazed that you could actually hear the sound unamplified directly from the needle if you lean in close enough.  "That’s weird" she said.  So, that was last night. 

Now tonight, for an encore my older daughter reminded me that she’s got a photography class that she begins next week and she needs – of all things – a "film camera".  She’s heard rumors about these relics, but was genuinely amazed that they exist and actually can make pictures.  My trusty old Canon AE-1 hasn’t seen the light of day for a long time. I’m estimating it has been packed away for 15 or more years – because once I got a VHS camcorder (ha, what’s that?) I kind of dropped off on carrying it along to family functions.  We put in a new battery and a fresh roll of film.  My lessons on how to load the film, change the lenses, set the exposure, shutter speed and focus were drawing lots of eye rolling – these kids…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going Old School

  1. Derek says:

    I\’ve been seriously contemplating buying a used AE-1.  I\’ve got a digital SLR, but been itching to try my hand at film.

  2. Derek says:

    I\’ve been seriously contemplating buying a used AE-1.  I\’ve got a digital SLR, but been itching to try my hand at film.

  3. Michele says:

    I can almost picture you in your room with the antique car wallpaper and blue panelling with your mondo headphones connected to the hi-fi listening to the Dark Side of the Moon.  It\’s impressive that your beer can collection and your vinyl LP\’s have survived!

  4. Joseph says:

    Nice story about old technology dude!You should show your kids a View Master or a Slinky, and watch them freak out!

Leave a Reply

